20 new countries launch national teacher prizes

20 new countries launch national teacher prizes
20 new countries launch national teacher prizes
Published: 19 March 2017 - 6:25 p.m.
By: Staff Writer
Following the success of the US$1 million Global Teacher Prize, an initiative of the Varkey Foundation, 20 countries announced have announced they will hold dedicated national teacher prizes, it was announced on the final day of the Global Education & Skills Forum.

Colombia was the first country to start its own prize, with the backing and support of the Varkey Foundation. In 2016, Argentina, Italy, Liberia, Palestine, Nepal and Uganda announced they would set up their own teacher prizes.

The 20 new countries announced in 2017 are: Albania, Algeria, Chile, Czech Republic, Georgia, Iraq, Japan, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Pakistan, Portugal, Somalia, Sudan, Tunisia, Ukraine, and Yemen.

Commenting on the growth of the Teacher Prize initiative, Varkey Foundation CEO Vikas Pota said: "When we embarked on this journey we hoped there might be national spin-offs of the Global Teacher Prize, independent from us but with a shared set of values and close co-operation to make them a success. But we couldn't have dreamt that within the space of three years we would have over 20 national teacher prizes either set up or are in the process of being set up.

"It is really remarkable, a testament to governments around the world taking on board the message that we must do all we can to elevate the status of teachers. It is wonderful to see that the Global Teacher Prize is now being adapted for local needs at an even deeper level in individual countries."

Click here to add your comment

Please add your comment below
Your email address will not be published